olyatitle
I was born in Saint Petersburg, Russia (it was called Leningrad at the time [until 1991]). To this day I believe it is one of the most beautiful cities in the world! This says it all about my upbringing. :)
In 1997 I moved to Kamloops, BC, Canada and 3 years later to Toronto, ON. I'm still here to this day.

 

Briefly about me:

Friends and Family: Without you I am not me! Without you I cannot be!

Chess: I love to play chess and have won many tournaments in my life. My biggest victory was winning the Canadian Girls Chess Championship. I had 1st place twice (1999, 2001) and I had second and third somewhere in-between. I represented Canada in the World Youth Chess Festival, Oropesa Del Mar Castellon, Spain, in 1998 and 2000. It was great!! So many different people, cultures, traditions. By International Standards I did OK, but personally I think I played very well considering how little time I spent on chess. You can view some pictures on my old webpage under 'Spain'.

What I love to do: Learn, learn and learn! Yes, I love to study ...anything! If I could live forever, I would have learned everything.

I'm known as bookworm. The tastiest, creamiest and the sweetest books I swallowed are:

*War and Peace, Anna Karenina (Leo Tolstoi)
*Idiot (Fyodor Dostoyevsky) [to tell you a secret I absolutely fell in love with the Prince Myshkin (the Idiot) but in the end he turned me off]
*Little Women (Louisa May Alcott) [they are so cute!]
*Embers (Sandor Marai) This book fascinated me!
*Hamlet (William Shakespeare) (for a moment I thought this was book was about me)
*Crime and Punishment (Fyodor Dostoyevsky). Gloomy, but still great! Either really interesting or very boring. Nothing in between.
*East of Eden (John Steinbeck) - WOW!!
*Master and Margaret - how true, how true
*The Da Vinci Code (Dan Brown) - I wish I wrote that book!

And many many more ... If you read some of these and wish to discuss them I will be very happy!

Sports: Love it!! It's one of the best things there is (besides few other important and yammi activities). I can play pretty much anything. My favourite though are badminton, tennis, basketball, floor hockey and ice skating. Click here to find out about my dream activity.

Languages: Words cannot express my love for learning languages. Right now its French. Used to be German and Latin. Will be Spanish and maybe some Mandarin. And of course I speak Russian and English.

University: Currently I'm attending University of Waterloo, Math/Business Administration, Honours coop program. Love it as well. .............. Never know where I will end up next year though!

Arts: This is the greatest gift of all! Without it ... I can't even imagine living without it! I love Art - Paintings, Sculptures, Architecture.... you name it. So far, the most beautiful work of Art I have ever seen is Hermitage in St. Petersburg, Russia.

I also paint. Here are some of my paintings:
I apologize that they are not clear on this picture.

Dance I adore dancing! I wish I was a ballerina, but .. I also love Hip-Hop. That I can do, more or less :) I think when people dance they let themselves free; they express and enjoy themselves and it looks like they have no worries. Life seems so beautiful at that time!

 

Have a great day!

Lots of Love and Hugs!

Olya Chichkina



1


Page archived courtesy of the Geocities Archive Project https://www.geocitiesarchive.org
Please help us spread the word by liking or sharing the Facebook link below :-)